logo

Our forum has been moved to a new system. If you previously had an account you will need to create a new account using the same username and email address. Do not use the 'Forgot Password Feature'

Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Canasta Rules Query
billbog24
#1 Posted : Thursday, August 27, 2009 7:56:33 AM(UTC)
Rank: Member

Groups:
Joined: 8/27/2009(UTC)
Posts: 1

Hi - The rules of Canasta in Hoyle Card Games appear to disagree with other authorities. According to Hoyle you are allowed to pick up the discard pile for two reasons firstly if you can add it to an existing meld or secondly if you have a "natural "in hand( two other 5's say if the top discard is a 5). Every other book I have read says that you can only pick up the discard pile if you have a natural in hand.Who is right . I am a beginner at this game but it seems to me that the other authorities are right. (if your opponents have laid down a meld of say five 5's and you possess the others then you know they will not have them "in hand" and so you can use it to stop them picking up the discard pile. Perhaps someone with more experience of the game can tell me which is the better rule.
Brandy redux
#1 Posted : Thursday, August 27, 2009 10:44:08 AM(UTC)
Brandy redux

Rank: Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 10/15/2008(UTC)
Posts: 336
Location: Idaho

Hi billbog24,

Hoyle Card Games 2009 is based on the official "According to Hoyle" rules. So, when you play Canasta with Hoyle Card Games 2009, your only choice is to follow those Hoyle rules.
Users browsing this topic
Guest
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Powered by YAF | YAF © 2003-2011, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.019 seconds.